Day 138: Lava Lamp

Day 138: Lava Lamp

So, on New Years Eve one of my mums friends had asked if I was able to do a drawing for her work colleague as she had just lost an animal and wanted a drawing to remember them by. So, on the basis that if this ever materialises then it would probably be nice to do it in colour for them I got a large set of cheap ballpoint coloured pens at the weekend and have decided to try them out today on my wife’s lava lamp.

sketchingdailyDAY138.jpg

And I’m really glad I did as this turned out really nice. One of the main advantages of ball point seems to be that you can get a different line value by the pressure you apply rather than the whole fineliners where you have a line no matter how much pressure you put on the pen.

As for the actual drawing I’m really happy with how it came out. I especially like how the metal stand actually looks metallic and the light reflections make sense over the whole drawing. I think the pop of colour probably helps as well given that I’m so used to seeing black and white drawings.

It also got my wife’s seal of approval which is nice (though this may be to do with the colour rather than a good drawing, who knows) and the cylinder shape actually looks cylindrical which is something I most often fail with.

Anyway that is all for today so…..

Till tommorrow!

Leave a comment