Day 370: Spirit Island, Maligne Lake, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada

Day 370: Spirit Island, Maligne Lake, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada

sketchingdailyDAY370.jpg

Firstly I apologise for the weird hue on the photo, unfortunately I had to take the photo using artificial light as its nearly 11pm here, but I thought it would be better to get it uploaded on the day rather than wait for tomorrow.

So, yesterday I said that I wanted to do some more landscape sketching so headed to pintrest to find a nice landscape to draw, ending up with this view of a lake island in Alberta, Canada as I wanted to try and practise drawing a long distance shot with trying to push the background back as you would do when painting. As I found out though its a bit different when your using just black ink.

Still I think I managed to achieve a look that gives the impression of depth and I’m really happy with how the water looks though I still think i can improve on it by not just assuming that it looks a certain way and actually looking at it (as an example I assumed the light lines were the same throughout the water whereas they actually get a bit thicker as you get closer).

Anyway, this is all part of the learning process and I’m sure I just need to keep practising to get there (plus I took the plunge and tried the sky again, which didn’t turn out all that bad). I’m not sure what tomorrows sketch is going to be thought I need to take some photos of the local church for a project for my mum so it might be one of them, we’ll have to see.

Till then!

Leave a Reply

