Day 364: The Popes Cabinet, Stourhead

Day 364: The Popes Cabinet, Stourhead

sketchingdailyDAY364.jpg

So, for our final visit to Stourhead we have the Popes Cabinet in one of the rooms of the house. Apparently the oldest surviving example of its type, this cabinet was extremely intricate and detailed.and had been restored in recent years so I thought I would try and get a sketch done as well as I could in pen and ink using multiple layers of pen and water (which isn’t the best way of doing it as it turns out as it tends to make the paper feather after several attempts to get it to run.

Still, I’m really happy with the outcome and I think I managed to get most of the details down despite only using the black pen and washes.

This also marks the penultimate sketch of the first year of me sketching. Got a couple of ideas for tomorrows sketch but not sure yet as to what to definitely do so we’ll have to wait and see.

Till then!

Leave a Reply

