Day 273: Brandenburg Gate, Berlin, Germany

Day 273: Brandenbug Gate, Berlin, Germany

Probably one of the most famous landmarks in Germany, the Brandenburg gate is my next port of call on my current trend of sketching famous landmarks.

sketchingdailyDAY273.jpg

Done rather quickly when I realised that I didn’t have all that much time left earlier this evening (got to love 4:30am wake ups for work), I decided to pick a random landmark that looked fairly simple to sketch and quickly get that done. This was the first one to pop into my head (well Big Ben was first but I did that one several weeks ago).

Really happy with it as well for how long I spent on the sketch. I’m definitely getting a lot quicker and making line decisions and even though the sketch isn’t perfect it turned out recognisable and mostly in proportion and scale to the real thing. Its also interesting that, at this scale and detail level things like the statue on top only have to vaguely look like its real life counterpart to actually look correct  and that doing things quickly generally ends up with the best result for me.

Anyway that’s all for today’s sketch so I hope you all like the continuation of the landmark sketches with the previously uploaded Taj Mahal and this Brandenburg gate joining the mix. Definitely plan on continuing with them tomorrow, I just need to find one that isn’t the pyramids (I’ll save that one for the end or a day where I’m really struggling for time) so as usual….

Till tomorrow!

Leave a comment